Skip to content

dreaming in public

December 7, 2009

being a shopkeeper has truly been a learning experience, and every day new lessons readily present themselves. after nine years, there is one lesson i should have learned… and that is to never count my chickens before they hatch. i was so excited to share the launch of the website with you today, but as you can tell i’m a whole 7 days behind in my countdown (and for good reason).

well friends… i’ll try to put this as delicately as possible. as shocking as the news may be… our web designer has so graciously abandoned our design project by writing us a dear john letter saying… “better luck next time.” and since she’s run off into the night with our whole website investment fund… i’ve been staying up into the wee hours of the night trying to teach myself html, css and java. but truth be told… its a struggle learning chinese in just a week. i’m trying my best, but needless to say, our website launch will temporarily be delayed until i can teach myself a very complicated new language.

but i don’t want to be the bearer of only bad news. so, even though our website has not found its launch pad, we still want to keep our promise to do a great giveaway today. with the help of my three little shopkeepers-in-training, we have randomly selected the twelve winners of the sage creek $20 giftcard giveaway. our winners are: tracie, bev, beth perry, barb hutchins, kathy, candy, kristin, dust jacket attic, lulu, shelley in sc, lindsay and robyn becker. thanks for participating ladies… please email me your mailing address to claim your prize.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2009 10:07 pm

    Oh I want to cry for you …. someone took off with your investment in a website. I am so sorry, if only I knew how to HTML/CSS/JAVA I would help you in a heartbeat. Alas, I don’t. :/

    Don’t worry – all of us out of Illinois will be right there to shop when you do get your store online – just take your time, we’re not going anywhere!!

    Hugs ~ Tracy.

  2. December 7, 2009 11:11 pm

    It was such a pleasure to meet you…and I am sooo sorry this happened to you! I just think how terrible!

    I cannot wait until it launches…and no rush…I’m sure you will have everyone gather around you…and when it does launch…how exciting! I can’t wait personally!

    Blessings, Martha

  3. December 8, 2009 12:55 am

    So sorry to hear the discouraging news about the website! I have only barely dipped a toe (so to speak) into html code, but I can see that it is very complex so you have my best wishes as you work on learning it.

    On a happier note, I am thrilled to have won… thanks for such a lovely giveaway!

  4. December 8, 2009 4:46 am

    How terrible! But for those who know you…know it will be worth the wait!

  5. December 8, 2009 9:48 am

    oh my gosh that is awful !! i have tried the whole thing too and needless to say it is Chinese … not sure who your server is but Pappa Shop works well for me … hugs girl !! hang in there …. xoxo

  6. December 8, 2009 10:08 am

    I am soooo sorry! Sometimes I wonder about people….I wish I knew html; tried alittle when I was setting up my website…good grief….no such luck! I wish there was something I could do to help…hang in there….

    BTW is that my little name I see in the winners circle?!?! Thank you so much, you are wonderful!!

  7. December 8, 2009 5:36 pm

    well…you know what i think of HTML!!

  8. December 8, 2009 11:56 pm

    So sorry to hear that. Sometimes I really wonder what goes on in some people’s minds. Just found your site through Kasey – Lola B’s. I was readying the Inspired post she did. Sounds like a fantastic evening!!

  9. December 8, 2009 11:57 pm

    Oops!! “Reading”

  10. Bev permalink
    December 9, 2009 5:54 am

    is that my name ? i would like to use it to buy one of your lovelies……. best wishes 🙂

  11. December 9, 2009 12:27 pm

    Oh that is terrible, I’m so sorry to hear that news. We’ll all be here waiting for you, be sure of that!

    Just received your email and you’ve so made my day, thank you! I’ll forward on my info in just a few minutes and will be sure to use it when you open your website store. Good, good thoughts your way… for every stinker there are many, many wonderful, kind-hearted people out there!
    ~Tracie

  12. December 9, 2009 5:50 pm

    even still I can’t get over this. so sorry it happened to you. lovely to meet you on Saturday.

  13. September 9, 2010 10:47 am

    I found a system with all of the support I could possibly need and NO html required, unless I choose to learn it. It’s wonderful.

  14. Sonya permalink
    February 7, 2011 12:03 am

    I feel so bad… I know my husband builds website, but if I ask him to one more thing he will explode, he offers non-profits special website packages, because that’s the kind of guy he is… but like so many have said, we will wait patiently… and by the way, your former web designer should be getting Karma right about now….
    Sonya 🙂

Leave a Reply

